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BEFORE THE

MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Application of: Case No. 800-2020-066071

JAMES LEONARD WEST

)

) .

; - STIPULATION FOR A

) PROBATIONARY LICENSE
)

)

For a Physician’s and Surgeon’s License

1) James Leonard West, applicant for a physician’s and surgeon’s license (hereinafter
“applicant”), and Marina O'Connor, Chief of Licensing of the Medical Board of California
(Board), hereby stipulate as follows:

2) Applicant is eligible for medical licensure in California upon meeting all licensure
requirements.

3) On June 25, 2019, applicant submitted an application for a Physician’s and
Surgeon’s License. The Board received information that on September 14, 2017, applicant
was convicted of Driving While Impaired by the North Carolina Forsyth County District
Court. As a result, applicant was placed under unsupervised probation for 12 months,
required to undergo a substance abuse assessment, driving privileges were limited,
complete 24 hours of community service, and required to pay a fine/court fees of $755.

During training, applicant was required to resign from his training program effective on
January 22, 2019, due to unprofessional interaction with colleagues and the consumption
of alcohol, which were not related to patient safety.

Applicant disclosed on his application that he has participated in a substance abuse
recovery program. -

4) Section 480(a) of the Business and Professions Code states, the Board may deny a
license on the grounds that the applicant has done one of the following: been convicted of
a crime; done any act that would be grounds for suspension or revocation of a license; and
done a crime or act that is substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of
the business and profession for which application is made. Section 2234 of the Business
and Professions Code states that the Board may take action for unprofessional conduct.
Section 2236 of the Business and Professions Code states that the conviction of any
offense related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a physician and surgeon
constitutes unprofessional conduct. Section 2239(a) of the Business and Professions Code
states the Board may take action for the use of any alcoholic beverages to the extent, or in
. such a manner as to be dangerous or injurious to the licensee, or any other person or to
the public.
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The above supports a conclusion that grounds exist for denial pursuant to sections

480(a)(1), 480(a)(3)(A), 480(a)(3)(B), 2234, 2236, and 2239(a) of the Business and
Professions Code.

5) Pursuant to Section 2221 of the Business and Professions Code, the Board may
deny a license to an applicant because of unprofessional conduct. Alternatively, the Board
has the discretionary autho_rity to issue a probationary license with terms.and conditions.

6) Applicant acknowledges he has a right to request a Statement of ISsues and a
hearing upon denial of license for cause. Applicant waives notice of hearing and judicial
review in favor of this Stipulation for a Probationary License, which is subject to approval
by the Board. If not approved, this Stipulation is null and void and may not be used for any '
purpose.

7) Applicant understands and agrees that counsel for the staff of the Board may
communicate directly with the Board regarding this proposed Stipulation, without notice to
or participation by applicant or his counsel. By signing the Stipulation, applicant
understands and agrees that he may not withdraw this agreement or seek to rescind the
Stipulation prior to the time the Board considers and acts upon it. If the Board fails to
adopt this Stipulation, the offer of a Stipulation for a Probationary License shall be of no
force or effect; except for this paragraph, it shall be inadmissible in any legal action
between the parties, and the Board shall not be disqualified from further action by having
considered this matter.

ORDER

IT 1S ORDERED THAT JAMES LEONARD WEST, applicant, be issued a
Physician's and Surgeon’s License on a probation basis for a period of three (3) years,
subject to the following terms and conditions. Probation shall begin on the date the
applicant is issued a probationary license.

1) Clinical Diagnostic Evaluations and Reports '

Within thirty (30) calendar days of the effective date of this Decision, and on whatever
periodic basis thereafter as may be required by the Board or its deSIgnee applicant shall
undergo and complete a clinical diagnostic evaluation, including any and all testing
deemed necessary, by a Board-appointed board certified physician and surgeon.

The examiner shall consider any information provided by the Board or its designee and
any other information he or she deems relevant, and shall furnish a written evaluation
report to the Board or its designee. :

The clinical diagnostic evaluation shall be conducted by a licensed physician and surgeon
who holds a valid, unrestricted license, has three (3) years’ experience in providing
evaluations of physicians and surgeons with substance abuse disorders, and is approved
by the Board or its designee. The clinical diagnostic evaluation shall be conducted in
accordance with acceptable professional standards for conducting substance abuse
clinical diagnostic evaluations. The evaluator shall not have a current or former financial,
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personal, or business relationship with applicant within the last five (5) years. The
evaluator shall provide an objective, unbiased, and independent evaluation. The clinical
diagnostic evaluation report shall set forth, in the evaluator's opinion, whether applicant
has a substance abuse problem, whether applicant is a threat to himselif or others, and
recommendations for substance abuse treatment, practice restrictions, or other
recommendations related to applicant’s rehabilitation and ability to practice safely. if the
evaluator determines during the evaluation process that applicant is a threat to himself or
others, the evaluator shall notify the Board within twenty-four (24) hours of such a
determination.

In formulating his or her opinion as to whether applicant is safe to return to either part-time
or full-time practice and what restrictions or recommendations should be imposed,
including participation in an inpatient or outpatient treatment program, the evaluator shall
consider the following factors: applicant’s license type; applicant’s history; applicant’s
documented length of sobriety (i.e., length of time that has elapsed since applicant’s last
substance use); applicant’s scope and pattern of substance abuse; applicant’s treatment
history, medical history and current medical condition; the nature, duration and severity of
applicant’s substance abuse problem or problems; and whether applicant is a threat to
himself or the public.

For all clinical diagnostic evaluations, a final written report shall be provided to the Board
no later than ten (10) days from the date the evaluator is assigned the matter. If the
evaluator requests additional information or time to complete the evaluation and report, an
extension may be granted, but shall not exceed thirty (30) days from the date the evaluator
was originally assigned the matter.

The Board shall review the clinical diagnostic evaluation report within five (5) business
days of receipt to determine whether applicant is safe to return to either part-time or full-
time practice and what restrictions or recommendations shall be imposed on applicant
based on the recommendations made by the evaluator. Applicant shall not be returned to

. practice until he has at least thirty (30) days of negative biological fluid tests or biological
fluid tests indicating that he has not used, consumed, ingested, or administered to himself
a prohibited substance, as defined in section 1361.51, subdivision (e), of Title 16 of the
California Code of Regulations.

Clinical diagnostic evaluations conducted prior to the effective date of this Decision shall
not be accepted towards the fulfillment of this requirement. The cost of the clinical
diagnostic evaluation, including any and all testing deemed necessary by the examiner,
the Board or its designee, shall be borne by the licensee.

Applicant shall not engage in the practice of medicine until notified by the Board or its
designee that he is fit to practice medicine safely. The period of time that applicant is not
practicing medicine shall not be counted toward completion of the term of probation.
Applicant shall undergo biological fluid testing as required in this Decision at least two (2)
times per week while awaiting the notification from the Board if he is fit to practice
medicine safely.
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Applicant shall comply with all restrictions or conditions recommended by the examiner
conducting the clinical diagnostic evaluation within fifteen (15) calendar days after being
notified by the Board or its designee.

2) Notice of Employer or Supervisor Information

Within seven (7) days of the effective date of this Decision, applicant shall provide to the
Board the names, physical addresses, mailing addresses, and telephone numbers of any
and all employers and supervisors. Applicant shall also provide specific, written consent for
the Board, applicant’s worksite monitor, and applicant's employers and supervisors to
communicate regarding applicant’s work status, performance, and monitoring. For
purposes of this section, “supervisors” shall include the Chief of Staff and Health or Well
Being Committee Chair, or equivalent, if applicable, when the applicant has medical staff
privileges.

3) Biological Fluid Testing

Applicant shall immediately submit to biological fluid testing, at applicant’s expense, upon
request of the Board or its designee. “Biological fluid testing” may include, but is not limited
to, urine, blood, breathalyzer, hair follicle testing, or similar drug screening approved by the
‘Board or its designee. Applicant shall make daily contact with the Board or its designee to
determine whether biological fluid testing is required. Applicant shall be tested on the date
of the notification as directed by the Board or its designee. The Board may order an
applicant to undergo a biological fluid test on any day, at any time, including weekends and
‘holidays. Except when testing on a specific date as ordered by the Board or its designee,
the scheduling of biological fluid testing shall be done on a random basis. The cost of
biological fluid testing shalil be borne by the applicant.

During the first year of probation, applicant shall be subject to 52 to 104 random tests.
During the second year of probation and for the duration of the probationary term, up to
five (5) years, applicant shall be subject to 36 to 104 random tests per year. Only if there
has been no positive biological fluid tests in the previous five (5) consecutive years of
probation, may testing be reduced to one (1) time per month. Nothing precludes the Board
from increasing the number of random tests to the first-year level of frequency for any
reason.

Prior to practicing medicine, applicant shall contract with a laboratory or service, approved
in advance by the Board or its designee, that will conduct random, unannounced,
observed, biological fluid testing and meets all the following standards:

(a) Its specimen collectors are either certified by the Drug and Alcohol Testing
Industry Association or have completed the training required to serve as a
collector for the United States Department of Transportation.

(b) Its specimen collectors conform to the current United States Department of
Transportation Specimen Collection Guidelines.
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(c) Its testing locations comply with the Urine Specimen Collection Guidelines

published by the United States Department of Transportation without regard to the
type of test administered. '

(d) Its'specimen collectors observe the collection of testing specimens.

(e) Its laboratories are certified and accredited by the United States Department of

(f)

Health and Human Services.

Its testing locations shall submit a specimen to a laboratory within one (1)
business day of receipt and all specimens collected shall be handled pursuant to
chain of custody procedures. The laboratory shall process and analyze the
specimens and provide legally defensible test results to the Board within seven (7)
business days of receipt of the specimen. The Board will be notified of non-
negative results within one (1) business day and will be notified of negative test
results within seven (7) business days.

(g) Its testing locations possess all the materials, equipment, and technical expertise

necessary in order to test applicant on any day of the week.

(h) Its testing locations are able to scientifically test for urine, blood, and hair

(i)
0)

specimens for the detection of alcohol and illegal and controlled substances.
It maintains testing sites located throughout California.

It maintains an automated 24-hour toli-free telephone system and/or a secure on-
line computer database that allows the applicant to check in daily for testing.

(k) It maintains a secure, HIPAA-compliant website or computer system that allows

()

staff access to drug test results and compliance reporting information that is
available 24 hours a day.

It employs or contracts with toxicologists that are licensed physicians and have
knowledge of substance abuse disorders and the appropriate medical training to
interpret and evaluate laboratory biological fluid test results, medical histories, and
any other information relevant to biomedical information.

(m) It will not consider a toxicology screen to be negative if a positive result is

obtained while practicing, even if the applicant holds a valid prescription for the
substance.

Prior to changing testing locations for any reaéon, including during vacation or other travel,
alternative testing locations must be approved by the Board and meet the requirements

above.
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The contract shall require that the laboratory directly notify the Board or its designee of
non-negative results within one (1) business day and negative test results within seven (7)
business days of the results becoming available. Applicant shall maintain this laboratory or
service contract during the period of probation.

A certified copy of any laboratory test result may be received in evidence in any
proceedings between the Board and applicant.

If a biological fluid test result indicates applicant has used, consumed, ingested, or
administered to himself a prohibited substance, the Board shall order applicant to cease
practice and instruct applicant to leave any place of work where applicant is practicing
medicine or providing medical services. The Board shall immediately notify all of
applicant’'s employers, supervisors and work monitors, if any, that applicant may not
practice medicine or provide medical services while the cease-practice order is in effect.

A biological fluid test will not be considered negative if a positive result is obtained while
practicing, even if the practitioner holds a valid prescription for the substance. If no
prohibited substance use exists, the Board shall lift the cease-practice order within one (1)
business day.

After the issuance of a cease-practice order, the Board shall determine whether the
positive biological fluid test is in fact evidence of prohibited substance use by consulting
with the specimen collector and the laboratory, communicating with the licensee, his
treating physician(s), other health care provider, or group facilitator, as applicable.

For purposes of this condition, the terms “biological fluid testing” and “testing” mean the
acquisition and chemical analysis of an applicant’s urine, blood, breath, or hair.

For purposes of this condition, the term “prohibited substance” means an illegal

drug, a lawful drug not prescribed or ordered by an appropriately licensed health care
provider for use by applicant and approved by the Board, alcohol, or any other substance
the applicant has been instructed by the Board not to use, consume, ingest, or administer
to himself. ]

If the Board confirms that a positive biological fluid test is evidence of use of a prohibited
substance, applicant has committed a major violation, as defined in section 1361.52(a),
and the Board shall impose any or all of the consequences set forth in section 1361.52(b),
in addition to any other terms or conditions the Board determines are necessary for public
protection or to enhance applicant’s rehabilitation.

In consideration of applicant’s fulfillment of criteria set forth by Code of Regulations, title
16, section 1361.5(3)(1)(1) (Previous Testing Orders/Sobriety), applicant is permitted to
bypass the first-year testing frequency requirements set forth above. Accordingly, the
second-year testing frequency requirements will apply upon applicant's commencement of
probation.
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4) Substance Abuse Support Group Meetings

Within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this Decision, applicant shall submit to the
Board or its designee, for its prior approval, the name of a substance abuse support group
which he shall attend for the duration of probation. Applicant shall attend substance abuse
. support group meetings at |least once per week, or as ordered by the Board or its
designee. Applicant shall pay all substance abuse support group meeting costs.

The facilitator of the substance abuse support group meeting shall have a minimum of
three (3) years’ experience in the treatment and rehabilitation of substance abuse, and
shall be licensed or certified by the state or nationally certified organizations. The
facilitator shall not have a current or former financial, personal, or business relationship
with applicant within the last five (5) years. Applicant’s previous participation in a
substance abuse group support meeting led by the same facilitator does not constitute a
prohibited current or former financial, personal, or business relationship.

The facilitator shall provide a signed document to the Board or its designee showing
applicant’'s name, the group name, the date and location of the meeting, applicant’s
attendance, and applicant’s level of participation and progress. The facilitator shall report
any unexcused absence by applicant from any substance abuse support group meeting to
the Board, or its designee, within twenty-four (24) hours of the unexcused absence.

5) Worksite Monitor for Substance-Abusing Licensee _
Within thirty (30) calendar days of the effective date of this Decision, applicant shall submit
to the Board or its designee for prior approval as a worksite monitor, the name and
qualifications of one or more licensed physician and surgeon, other licensed health care
professional if no physician and surgeon is available, or, as approved by the Board or its
designee, a person in a position of authority who is capable of monitoring the applicant at
work.

The worksite monitor shall not have a current or former financial, personal, or familial
relationship with applicant, or any other relationship that could reasonably be expected to
compromise the ability of the monitor to render impartial and unbiased reports to the Board
or its designee. If it is impractical for anyone but applicant’'s employer to serve as the
worksite monitor, this requirement may be waived by the Board or its designee, however,
under no circumstances shall applicant’s worksite monitor be an employee or supervisee
of the licensee.

 The worksite monitor shall have an active unrestricted license with no disciplinary action
within the last five (5) years, and shall sign an affirmation that he has reviewed the terms
and conditions of applicant’s disciplinary order and agrees to monitor applicant as set forth
by the Board or its designee.

Applicant shall pay all worksite monitoring costs.

The worksite monitor shall have face-to-face contact with applicant in the work
environment on as frequent a basis as determined by the Board or its designee, but not
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less than once per week; interview other staff in the office regarding applicant's behavior, if
requested by the Board or its designee; and review applicant's work attendance.

The worksite monitor shall verbally report any suspected substance abuse to the Board
and applicant’s employer or supervisor within one (1) business day of occurrence. If the
suspected substance abuse does not occur during the Board's normal business hours, the
verbal report shall be made to the Board or its designee within one (1) hour of the next
business day. A written report that includes the date, time, and location of the suspected
abuse; applicant’s actions; and any other information deemed important by the worksite
monitor shall be submitted to the Board or its designee within 48 hours of the occurrence.

The worksite monitor shall complete and submit a written report monthly or as directed by
the Board or its designee which shall include the following: (1) applicant’s name and
Physician’s and Surgeon'’s Certificate number; (2) the worksite monitor's name and
signature; (3) the worksite monitor's license number, if applicable; (4) the location or
location(s) of the worksite; (5) the dates applicant had face-to-face contact with the
worksite monitor; (6) the names of worksite staff interviewed, if applicable; (7) a report of
applicant’'s work attendance; (8) any change in applicant’s behavior and/or personal habits;
and (9) any indicators that can lead to suspected substance abuse by applicant. Applicant
shall complete any required consent forms and execute agreements with the approved
worksite monitor and the Board, or its designee, authorizing the Board, or its designee,
and worksite monitor to exchange information.

If the worksite monitor resigns or is no longer available, applicant shall, within five (5)
calendar days of such resignation or unavailability, submit to the Board or its designee, for
prior approval, the name and qualifications of a replacement monitor who will be assuming
that responsibility within fifteen (15) calendar days. If applicant fails to obtain approval of a
replacement monitor within sixty (60) calendar days of the resignation or unavailability of
the monitor, applicant shall receive a notification from the Board or its designee to cease
the practice of medicine within three (3) calendar days after being so notified.

Applicant shall cease the practice of medicine until a replacement monitor is approved and
assumes monitoring responsibility.

6) Violation of Probation Condition for Substance-Abusing Licensees
Failure to fully comply with any term or condition of probation is a violation of probation.

A. If applicant commits a major violation of probation as defined by section 1361.52,
subdivision (a), of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, the Board shall take one
or more of the following actions:

1. Issue an immediate cease-practice order and order applicant to undergo a
clinical diagnostic evaluation to be conducted in accordance with section
1361.5, subdivision (c)(1), of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, at
applicant’'s expense. The cease-practice order issued by the Board or its
designee shall state that applicant must test negative for at least a month of
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_continuous biological fluid testing before being allowed to resume practice.
For purposes of the determining the length of time an applicant must test
negative while undergoing continuous biological fluid testing following
issuance of a cease-practice order, a month is defined as thirty calendar (30)
days. Applicant may not resume the practice of medicine until notified in
writing by the Board or its designee that he may do so.

2. Increase the frequency of biological fluid testing.

3. Refer applicant for further disciplinary action, such as suspension,
revocation, or other action as determined by the Board or its designee. (Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 16, § 1361.52, subd. (b).)

B. If applicant commits a minor violation of probation as defined by section 1361.52,

subdivision (c), of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, the Board shall take one
or more of the following actions:

1. Issue a cease-practice order;

Order practice limitations;

Order or increase supervision of applicant;
Order increased documentation;

Issue a citation and fine, or a warning letter;

o o A ® N

Order applicant to undergo a clinical diagnostic evaluation to be conducted in
accordance with section 1361.5, subdivision (c)(1), of Title 16 of the
California Code of Regulations, at applicant’s expense;

7. Take any other action as determined by the Board or its designee. (Cal.
Code Regs., tit. 16, § 1361.52, subd. (d).) '

C. Nothing in this Decision shall be considered a limitation on the Board'’s authority to
revoke applicant’s probation if he has violated any term or condition of probation. (See
Cal. Code Regs., tit. 16, § 1361.52, subd. (e).) If applicant violates probation in any
respect, the Board, after giving applicant notice and the opportunity to be heard, may
revoke probation and carry out the disciplinary order that was stayed. If an Accusation, or
Petition to Revoke Probation, or an Interim Suspension Order is filed against applicant
during probation, the Board shall have continuing jurisdiction until the matter is final, and
the period of probation shall be extended until the matter is final.

7) Controlled Substances — Abstain From Use

Applicant shall abstain completely from the personal use or possession of controlled
substances as defined in the California Uniform Controlled Substances Act, dangerous
drugs as defined by Business and Professions Code section 4022, and any drugs requiring




James Leonard West Page 10

a prescription. This prohibition does not apply to medications lawfully prescribed to
applicant by another practitioner for a bona fide illness or condition. Within 15 calendar
days of receiving any lawfully prescribed medications, applicant shall notify the Board or its
designee of the: issuing practitioner's name, address, and telephone number; medication
name, strength, and quantity; and issuing pharmacy name, address, and telephone
number. '

If applicant has a confirmed positive biological fluid test for any substance (whether or not
legally prescribed) and has not reported the use to the Board or its designee, applicant
shall receive a notification from the Board or its designee to immediately cease the
practice of medicine. The applicant shall not resume the practice of medicine until the final
decision on an accusation and/or a petition to revoke probation is effective. An accusation
and/or petition to revoke probation shall be filed by the Board within 30 days of the
notification to cease practice. If the applicant requests a hearing on the accusation and/or .
- petition to revoke probation, the Board shall provide the applicant with a hearing within 30
days of the request, unless the applicant stipulates to a later hearing. If the case is heard
by an Administrative Law Judge alone, he or she shall forward a Proposed Decision to the
Board within 15 days of submission of the matter. Within 15 days of receipt by the Board
of the Administrative Law Judge’s proposed decision, the Board shall issue its Decision,
unless good cause can be shown for the delay. If the case is heard by the Board, the
Board shall issue its decision within 15 days of submission of the case, unless good cause
can be shown for the delay. Good cause includes, but is not limited to, non-adoption of the
proposed decision, request for reconsideration, remands and other interlocutory orders
issued by the Board. The cessation of practice shall not apply to the reduction of the
probationary time period.

If the Board does not file an accusation or petition to revoke probation within 30 days of the
issuance of the notification to cease practice or does not provide applicant with a hearing
within 30 days of a such a request, the notification of cease practice shall be dissolved.

8)  Alcohol-Abstain From Use :
Applicant shall abstain completely from the use of products or beverages containing
alcohol.

If applicant has a confirmed positive biological fluid test for alcohol, applicant shall receive
a notification from the Board or its designee to immediately cease the practice of medicine.
The applicant shall not resume the practice of medicine until the final decision on an
accusation and/or a petition to revoke probation is effective. An accusation and/or petition
to revoke probation shall be filed by the Board within 30 days of the notification to cease
practice. If the applicant requests a hearing on the accusation and/or petition to revoke
probation, the Board shall provide the applicant with a hearing within 30 days of the
request, unless the applicant stipulates to a later hearing. If the case is heard by an
Administrative Law Judge alone, he or she shall forward a Proposed Decision to the Board
within 15 days of submission of the matter. Within 15 days of receipt by the Board of the
Administrative Law Judge’s proposed decision, the Board shall issue its Decision, unless
good cause can be shown for the delay. If the case is heard by the Board, the Board shall
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issue its decision within 15 days of submission of the case, unless good cause can be
shown for the delay. Good cause includes, but is not limited to, non-adoption of the
proposed decision, request for reconsideration, remands and other interlocutory orders
issued by the Board. The cessation of practice shall not apply to the reduction of the
probationary time period.

If the Board does not file an accusation or petition to revoke probation within 30 days of the
issuance of the notification to cease practice or does not provide applicant with a hearing
'within 30 days of a such a request, the notification of cease practice shall be dissolved.

9) Psychotherapy ,

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this Decision, applicant shall submit to the
Board or its designee for prior approval the name and qualifications of a California-licensed
board certified psychiatrist or a licensed psychologist who has a doctoral degree in
psychology and at least five years of postgraduate experience in the diagnosis and
treatment of emotional and mental disorders. Upon approval, applicant shall undergo and
continue psychotherapy treatment, including any modifications to the frequency of
psychotherapy, until the Board or its designee deems that no further psychotherapy is
necessary. '

The psychotherapist shall consider any information provided by the Board or its designee
and any other information the psychotherapist deems relevant and shall furnish a written
evaluation report to the Board or its designee. Applicant shall cooperate in providing the
psychotherapist any information and documents that the psychotherapist may deem
pertinent.

Applicant shall have the treating psychotherapist submit quarterly status reports to the
Board or its designee. The Board or its designee may require applicant to undergo
psychiatric evaluations by a Board-appointed board certified psychiatrist. If, prior to the
completion of probation, applicant is found to be mentally unfit to resume the practice of
medicine without restrictions, the Board shall retain continuing jurisdiction over applicant’s
license and the period of probation shall be extended until the Board determines that
applicant is mentally fit to resume the practice of medicine without restrictions.

Applicant shall pay the cost of all psychotherapy and psychiatric evaluations.

10)  Solo Practice Prohibition

Applicant is prohibited from engaging in the solo practice of medicine. Prohibited solo
practice includes, but is not limited to, a practice where: 1) applicant merely shares office
space with another physician but is not affiliated for purposes of providing patient care, or
2) applicant is the sole physician practitioner at that location.

If applicant fails to establish a practice with another physician or secure employment in an
appropriate practice setting within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this Decision,
applicant shall receive a notification from the Board or its designee to cease the practice of
medicine within three (3) calendar days after being so notified. The applicant shall not
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- resume practice until an appropriate practice setting is established.

If, during the course of the probation, the applicant’s practice setting changes and the
~ applicant is no longer practicing in a setting in compliance with this Decision, the applicant
shall notify the Board or its designee within 5 calendar days of the practice setting change.

If applicant fails to establish a practice with another physician or secure employment in an
appropriate practice setting within 60 calendar days of the practice setting change,
applicant shall receive a notification from the Board or its designee to cease the practice of
medicine within three (3) calendar days after being so notified. The applicant shall not
resume practice until an appropriate practice setting is established.

11)  Professionalism Program (Ethics Course)

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this Decision, applicant shall enroll in a
professionalism program, that meets the requirements of Title 16, California Code of
Regulations (CCR) section 1358.1. Applicant shall participate in and successfully
complete that program. Applicant shall provide any information and documents that the
program may deem pertinent. Applicant shall successfully complete the classroom
component of the program not later than six (6) months after applicant’s initial enroliment,
and the longitudinal component of the program not later than the time specified by the
program, but no later than one (1) year after attending the classroom component. The
professionalism program shall be at applicant’'s expense and shall be in addition to the
Continuing Medical Education (CME) requirements for renewal of licensure.

A professionalism program taken after the acts that gave rise to the charges in the
Accusation, but prior to the effective date of the Decision may, in the sole discretion of the
Board or its designee, be accepted towards the fulfillment of this condition if the program
would have been approved by the Board or its designee had the program been taken after
the effective date of this Decision.

Applicant shall submit a certification of successful completion to the Board or its designee
not later than 15 calendar days after successfully completing the program or not later than
15 calendar days after the effective date of the Decision, whichever is later.

12)  Notification

Within seven (7) days of the effective date of this Decision, the applicant shall provide a
true copy of this Decision to the Chief of Staff or the Chief Executive Officer at every
hospital where privileges or membership are extended to applicant, at any other facility
where applicant engages in the practice of medicine, including all physician and locum
tenens registries or other similar agencies, and to the Chief Executive Officer at every
insurance carrier which extends malpractice insurance coverage to applicant. Applicant
shall submit proof of compliance to the Board or its designee within 15 calendar days.
This condition shall apply to any change(s) in hospitals, other facilities or insurance carrier.

13)  Supervision of Physician Assistants and Advanced Practice Nurses
During probation, applicant is prohibited from superwsmg physician assistants and
advanced practice nurses.
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14) Qbey All Laws
Applicant shall obey all federal, state and local laws, all rules governing the practice of

medicine in California and remain in full compliance with any court ordered criminal
-probation, payments, and other orders.

15)  Quarterly Declarations ’

Applicant shall submit quarterly declarations under penalty of perjury on forms provided by
the Board, stating whether there has been compliance with all the conditions of probation.
Applicant shall submit quarterly declaratlons not later than 10 calendar days after the end
of the preceding quarter.

16)  General Probation Requirements

a) Compliance with Probation Unit
Applicant shall comply with the Board’s probation.

b) Address Changes
Applicant shall, at all times, keep the Board informed of applicant’s business and
residence addresses, email address (if available), and telephone number.
Changes of such addresses shall be immediately communicated in writing to the
Board or its designee. Under no circumstances shall a post office box serve as
an address of record, except as allowed by Business and Professions Code
section 2021(b). :

.c) Place of Practice :
Applicant shall not engage in the practice of medicine in applicant’s or patient’s
place of residence, unless the patient resides in a skilled nursing facility or other
similar licensed facility.

d) License Renewal
Appllcant shall maintain a current and renewed Callfornla physician’s and
surgeon’s license.

e) Travel or Residence Outside California
Applicant shall immediately inform the Board or its designee, in wrltlng, of travel
to any areas outside the jurisdiction of California which lasts, or is contemplated
to last, more than thirty (30) calendar days.

In the event applicant should leave the State of California to reside or to practice
applicant shall notify the Board or its designee in writing 30 calendar days prior
to the dates of departure and return. :

17) Interview with the Board or its Designee

Applicant shall be available in person upon request for interviews either at applicant’s
place of business or at the probation unit office, with or without prior notice throughout the
term of probation.
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18) Non-practice While on Probation

Applicant shall notify the Board or its designee in writing within 15 calendar days of any
periods of non-practice lasting more than 30 calendar days and within 15 calendar days of
applicant’s return to practice. Non-practice is defined as any period of time applicant is not
practicing medicine as defined in Business and Professions Code sections 2051 and 2052
for at least 40 hours in a calendar month in direct patient care, clinical activity or teaching,
or other activity as approved by the Board. If applicant resides in California and is
considered to be in non-practice, applicant shall comply with all terms and conditions of
probation. All time spent in an intensive training program which has been approved by the
Board or its designee shall not be considered non-practice and does not relieve applicant
from complying with all the terms and conditions of probation. Practicing medicine in
another state of the United States or Federal jurisdiction while on probation with the
medical licensing authority of that state or jurisdiction shall not be considered non-practice.
A Board-ordered suspension of practice shall not be considered as a period of non-
practice.

In the event applicant’s period of non-practice while on probation exceeds 18 calendar
months, applicant shall successfully complete the Federation of State Medical Board's
Special Purpose Examination, or, at the Board’s discretion, a clinical competence
assessment program that meets the criteria of Condition 18 of the current version of the
Board's “Manual of Model Disciplinary Orders and Disciplinary Guidelines” prior to
resuming the practice of medicine.

Applicant’s period of non-practice while on probation shall not exceed two (2) years.
Periods of non-practice will not apply to the reduction of the probationary term.

Periods of non-practice for an applicant residing outside of California, will relieve applicant
of the responsibility to comply with the probationary terms and conditions with the
exception of this condition and the following terms and conditions of probation: Obey All
Laws; General Probation Requirements; Quarterly Declarations; Abstain from the Use of
Alcohol and/or Controlled Substances; and Biological Fluid Testing.

19) Completion of Probation ‘

Applicant shall comply with all financial obligations (e.g., restitution, probation costs) not
later than 120 calendar days prior to the completion of probation. Upon successful
completion of probation, applicant’s license shall be unrestricted.

20) Violation of Probation '

Failure to fully comply with any term or condition of probation is a violation of probation. If
applicant violates probation in any respect, the Board, after giving applicant notice and the
opportunity to be heard, may petition to revoke probation and take appropriate action.

If an Accusation, or Petition to Revoke Probation, or an Interim Suspension Order is filed
against applicant during probation, the Board shall have continuing jurisdiction until the
matter is final, and the period of probation shall be extended until the matter is final.
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21)  License Surrender :
Following the effective date of this Decision, if applicant ceases practicing due to
—— . retirement or health reasons or is otherwise unable to satisfy the terms.and.conditions.of

probatiom-applicantmay Tequest to-surrender his-license—The Board reserves the right to

-..-evaluate applicant request and-to.exercise-its-discretion-in-determining-whether-or notto - ---- - - -

grant the request, or to take any other action deemed appropriate and reasonable under

calendar days deliver applicant's wallet and wall certificate to the Board or its designee
and applicant shall no longer practice medicine. Applicant will no longer be subject to the
- terms and conditions of probation. If applicant re-applies for a medical license, the
application shall be treated as a petition for reinstatement of a revoked certificate.

22)  Probation Monitoring Costs .

Applicant shall pay the costs associated with probation monitoring each and every year of
probation, as designated by the Board, which may be adjusted on an annual basis. Such
costs shall be payable to the Medical Board of California and delivered to the Board or its
designee no later than January 31 of each calendar year.

Applicant agrees to comply with the terms and conditions of the above Order.

Qemes L osnand Weat- 411312020

__the circumstances. Upon formal acceptance of the surrender, applicant shall within 15

Hmes Leonard West, Applicant ' Date

gy /5 f2020

Marina O'Connor, Chie‘f of Licensing Date




